Tutorials

Hands of Time hair clip

I felt that this was appropriate for the start of the new year, and although I’ve made a clip, the flower can be attached to almost anything (I’m considering making a tattered lace cuff bracelet with a different colour).
Here’s what I used:

A plain fabric flower, two clock hands and a hair clip.
A plain fabric flower, two clock hands and a hair clip.
  • The first thing I did was glue the clock hands to the centre of my flower. I did try using a hot glue gun, but they wouldn’t stay in place, so super glue was the way to go.
  • The glue gun did work for attaching the clip to the flower (thank god) so that’s what I did next.
  • This final bit is optional, but as I was going for a steampunk look it kind of worked out and gave the clip a sort of industrial look which was great. Basically I held it over a candle so that the edges of the fabric melted and curved in on themselves.
  • Not perhaps my brightest idea ever, but it worked out fine!
    Not perhaps my brightest idea ever, but it worked out fine!

    So there it is: one steampunk header l hair flower ready to go!
    wp 20170101 003

Leave a Reply

